Energy Security Prize

SAFE will announce the winners of its inaugural Energy Security Prize at OPEC Oil Embargo+40 on October 16, 2013.


Securing America's Future Energy is no longer accepting applications for its inaugural Energy Security Prize competition.  Please check back in September for finalist presentation videos and the online voting component of the contest.

The SAFE Energy Security Prize will be divided into two categories with winners being announced at OPEC Oil Embargo +40: A National Summit on Energy Security, which will be held at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C. on October 16, 2013. 

  • Emerging Innovation Award (EIA) will recognize up to three technologies not currently in the marketplace that are expected to be available for sale within five years.  The technology must have the potential to meaningfully reduce long-term U.S. oil consumption.  The first place winner of the Emerging Innovation Award will receive $125,000 in prize money.  The first runner-up will receive $35,000 and the second runner-up will receive $15,000.  
  • Advanced Technology Award (ATA) will recognize up to three groundbreaking technologies already established in the marketplace today that reduce the amount of oil consumed in the United States.

The Energy Security Prize is designed to promote and recognize innovation in advanced transportation and new industrial and petrochemical processes with the ultimate goal of significantly reducing oil consumption in the United States.  The Energy Security Prize will recognize and reward current leaders in reducing petroleum consumption as well as new innovators who will substantially reduce petroleum consumption in the coming years.

Securing America's Future Energy | 1111 19th Street, NW, Suite 406 | Washington, DC 20036 | 202-461-2360
Contact Us · Copyright © 2014 · Site Design by MSDS