Securing America's Future Energy

SAFE Congratulates Pruitt on EPA Confirmation

Contact: Leslie Hayward
Number: 202-461-2364

Washington, D.C.—Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE) congratulates the Honorable Scott Pruitt for his confirmation as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and looks forward to working with him to reduce U.S. oil dependence.

“We applaud Administrator Pruitt for his successful confirmation, and we look forward to working with him and EPA on various policy options to improve our energy security, such as improved efficiencies and advanced transportation fuels,” said Robbie Diamond, President and CEO of SAFE. “These measures are critical to enhancing economic and national security.”

As the U.S. currently relies on oil to power 92 percent of its transportation system, the country remains vulnerable to global oil price shocks, undermining U.S. economic sovereignty and security. De-linking American transportation from oil, through improved efficiency and fuel choice diversity, will help insulate the U.S. economy from oil price volatility and OPEC’s efforts to manipulate the oil market.


About Securing America’s Future Energy

 Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE) is an action-oriented, nonpartisan organization that aims to reduce America’s dependence on oil. Near-total dependence on petroleum in the transportation sector undermines the nation’s economic and national security, and constrains U.S. foreign policy. To combat these threats, SAFE advocates for expanded domestic production of U.S. oil and gas resources, continued improvements in vehicle fuel efficiency, and transportation sector innovations including electric vehicles, natural gas trucks, and autonomous vehicles. In 2006, SAFE joined with General P.X. Kelley (Ret.), 28th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, and Frederick W. Smith, Chairman, President, and CEO of FedEx Corporation, to form the Energy Security Leadership Council (ESLC), a group of business and former military leaders committed to reducing the United States’ dependence on oil. Today, the ESLC is co-chaired by Frederick W. Smith and General James T. Conway (Ret), 34th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps.


1111 19th Street, NW #406, Washington, DC 20036